About Gem

wife, mother, tech career girl, RAF brat, former divorcee, Salesforce Certified Professional, anxious depressive, determined survivor

I was born in Germany and whenever I’m asked that common question “Where are you from?”, it doesn’t have an easy answer. Through genealogical study it turns out that most of my family are from either side of the Pennines (that’s in England) – so I’m truly Yorkshire and Lancashire in my family background. I have a mish-mash of different accents as a result. My dad was in the UK military so we moved around a lot – this continued into adulthood when I couldn’t quite put roots down. Believe me, now I’m a mother, I intend to put roots down for a lot longer than 3 years. The map below summarises all the places I’ve lived:

I started this blog quite recently, having given in to myself. I used to write loads as a teenager; the other day I was sorting some stuff out and I found a lot of my essays, journals, diaries, and poetry from my younger years. As a child, I wrote stories, many. I thought the other day – why the hell did I let that slip?! The allure of alcohol, travelling and boys, perhaps. There have been many experiences that have contributed to the individual I am today, all locked away inside my head. So many stories; so many missed opportunities to share them and remember them for what I learned from them.

I’m very lucky in that I fell into the salesforce.com consulting industry quite by accident but have managed to make a successful 10-year career out of it, visiting various companies, meeting individuals of many personality types and backgrounds on a regular basis. I get bored easily, so consulting suits me. I get to learn as much as I can about a company in a very short space of time, come up with solutions to meet their requirements, then design and build a system for them to use. The aim is to increase efficiency and make people’s working lives better – it suits me, as I get to get creative in order to make a difference. Now the goal has changed significantly; I have been working to become a better architect through certification; this culminates in the objective to become a Certified Technical Architect – a rare thing amongst we ladies.

Moving around a lot has also made me quite partial to a bit of travel and my current job suits me in terms of seeing a bit of the world. These last 2 years I have been to the US, India, Sweden and the Netherlands – albeit for work – India, in particular, made me see things differently and showed me what’s important in life. It was an experience that stayed with me.

My little girl Mollie came along in 2012. Then in 2013, my world got a lot crazier when I was diagnosed with breast cancer, at 29, having been married to the ex for a whole month. Four years along the road, having had all the treatment you can throw at it, I am doing much better and staving it away with some hormone therapy, topped up with some medication to regulate my mood. I’ve since been divorced and remarried; my husband, Chris, also works with Salesforce. He and Mollie remind me every day why I bothered having treatment in the first place.

I’m a bit into my genealogy; I have over 5000 individuals in my Ancestry family tree – and counting. I love researching – finding out who I came from and their stories. I recently discovered I have a family link to one of the detectives investigating the Ripper murders in 1888 and I was over the moon. I get a bit excited about findings, achievements, and history.

So that’s me, in a nutshell, I hope you enjoy reading about my experiences – writing for me is now cathartic (as many authors and diarists say it is), so I’m not always thinking about my audience when I write, but I hope you can see this for what it is – a collection of candid thoughts, feelings, and experiences, the occasional rant, maybe sometimes some hints and tips, but hopefully something that can help others as much as it is certainly helping me navigate this twisty-turny thing called Life. Love to you all.

Share This: